Mini Book Haul: My mental dilemma and overcoming book snobbery

Hello world, it’s Olive again. This time with a book haul.

It’s rather small, but I’m quite excited about it. I had a $15.00 Half-Price Books gift card that I needed to spend, so after an evening at the movies I dragged two of my guy friends into the store since it was right across the street.

Those poor men deserve an award.

What my mind sees when staring at my bookshelf in this situation.

I’m not the type of person who constantly buys books. I adore them, but I generally don’t add a book to my collection unless it is so absolutely magnificent that my library now appears to have a giant hole in it anytime I look at the shelf. That, or I’m going to meet the author at a book signing.

Therefore, when people assume that the perfect present for me is a gift card to a bookstore, I’m stuck staring at endless shelves of printed works like a deer in headlights.

It’s a curse.

So here I am, in Half-Price Books, going down my booklist on my phone trying to find a few works to use up my gift card.

The guys have gone off to the video game and movie section, and will eventually return to accompany me with my upcoming mental breakdown.

Of course, any book I can think of to buy is not in the store.

So, now I’m just aimlessly traversing the shelves trying to find something, ANYTHING that will be worth buying. I’m sure a lot of the books in there would be good, but I’m terrified of purchasing a book that I don’t have the slightest inkling about just because it “sounds interesting,” and then end up not enjoying it.

Finally, after walking past it at least ten times, I see it.

Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor.

Imagine a hallelujah chorus erupting inside my head.

I am a huge fan of Laini Taylor’s books, and this is the sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone, which I purchased in 2011 at a book signing where I met Taylor.

In case you are wondering, yes I did scream when I saw on the calendar she was coming to my town. Don’t worry, I was at home.

So, here it is, sitting on a stand right in front of me, a gorgeous hardcover edition for $7.99!

It’s safe to say my decision was made.

My second book I spotted on my way to the register on a New Bestsellers shelf. I snatched up a paperback copy of The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde, which Sarah has been nagging me to read. Also, we are going to the author’s book signing next week, so I had been planning to buy the book anyway.

I’m content, practically skipping with my metal shopping basket of books.

That’s when it all goes downhill.

I then see at the bottom of the New Bestsellers shelf, another hardcover edition of Days of Blood and Starlight.

I was wondering why the copy I had picked up had a different cover style than the first book in the series.

It was because I had gotten the UK edition, and now here was the US edition that DID have a matching cover scheme, only this one was $15.00.

This book series has one of the most gorgeous cover designs I have ever seen.

      

See?!

Now, my inner book snob decides to appear.

She wants me to buy the book whose cover scheme matches the one I already own. It’s what I always do. What can I say? I like the books that I have in a series to MATCH. That’s why it bothers me so much when publishers change the covers halfway through a series, but that is a rant for another day.

If I get the US edition, my books will match, but I won’t get a copy of The Last Dragonslayer, and will end up having to buy it later. This is of course a problem, because I definitely SHOULD be looking for ways to save money on books.

So we can buy MORE books. Books are preciousssssss.

I’m in agony, sitting on the floor of a Half-Price Books. It was probably a pretty pathetic, yet hilarious sight.

I know deep in my heart the decision I’m going to make; but I’m comforted with one thought:

At least I’m obsessed with British television.

My backwards Olive-logic allowed that to soothe my inner book snob about purchasing the UK edition.

I mean, after all, it IS the UK edition; and two brand new books for the price of one.

At the end of the day, I’m content.

As long as I don’t look at a picture of the US cover.

Sources:

Black Hole Image via ScienceReflections.com

Find these books on Goodreads! Click on the covers!

5 thoughts on “Mini Book Haul: My mental dilemma and overcoming book snobbery

  1. OhMyGoodness. I LOVE the Laini Taylor books! I was so excited when Days of Blood and Starlight came out; I listened to it in 2 days. And only because I had to sleep. Man the US cover for that book is gorgeous, which is surprising because usually the UK ones are better (exception: Harry Potter).

Leave a Reply

